Breast Cancer Awareness

I begin with the awareness topic I am most known for: breast cancer awareness. Five or so years ago I became very interested in learning more about breast cancer. Most people, including myself, find it to be a little weird how passionate I am about finding a cure because I do not have breast cancer, my family does not have a history of breast cancer, and none of my friends have breast cancer. Absolutely no one I am acquainted with suffers from this awful cancer.

During my research I found out a lot of things I did not know about breast cancer. I found out that men can also get breast cancer. When a man does get breast cancer they often find out when it is too late; since men usually have less breast tissue than women, male breast cancer does not need to grow far to invade into the skin and the muscles underneath the breast.

The main message to send about breast cancer is: early detection and awareness is the best medicine to fight the cancer. There currently is no cure for breast cancer but radiation and chemotherapy are known to help.

Early detection of breast cancer reduces the chance of death. Breast cancer is not picky. It does not care what your age, sex, gender, or race is. This is why it is important for all people to check their breasts every month. If you ever feel or see any abnormality to your breasts you should go to your doctor. The National Cancer Institute recommends women (4o years and up) to have screening mammograms every one to two years. If you have a family history of breast cancer you may want to start your screenings sooner than 40 years old.

When you check your breasts you should be looking for

  • Lump, hard knot or thickening
  • Swelling, warmth, redness or darkening
  • Change in the size or shape
  • Dumpling or puckering of the skin
  • Itchy, scaly sore or rash on the nipple
  • Pulling in of your nipple or other parts
  • Nipple discharge that starts suddenly
  • New pain in one spot that does not go away

I have this reminder to check my breasts every month hanging on my bathroom door. I picked this one up at the doctor’s office at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Image

If  doctor diagnoses you with breast cancer they will have needed to preform a mammogram on you. These mammograms can be pricy. As I am sure you have seen foundations and companies like Susan G. Komen have made products for anyone to purchase. If you buy a breast cancer awareness product, a portion of the sales will go towards the cost of mammograms.  It is so hard for me not to buy a breast cancer awareness item. This is for three reasons 1) They are cute! 2) I am helping fund mammograms 3) I am spreading awareness when I use the product.

Here are some of the products I have purchased. If you would like to purchase items of your own and help save a life, click on the ‘Hope Faith Cure’ image on my sidebar. You may also go to www.komen.org .

Image

Image 

Image      

          Maybe without hearing this, you would have never been aware. Awareness makes people think and act. So act, go check your boobies!

Leave a Reply

